27 and 28 March 2025, at 7.30 pm

SMS 5: Nobly

Conductor: Kakhi Solomnishvili

Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra
Soloist: Ana Dolžan, violin 

Marijan Lipovšek, Second Suite for Strings
Richard Strauss, Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 8 
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74, “Pathetique” 

It is nice to encounter art that summarises and makes sense of the best of the past. All three compositions of the present concert are precisely such works, imbued with the compositional idiom of late Romanticism: Tchaikovsky’s last symphony as its perfect embodiment, the youthful violin concerto of the barely eighteen-year-old Strauss, and Lipovšek’s suite, which looks back on this joyful past from the viewpoint of the twentieth century.

SMS 5: Nobly

27 and 28 March 2025, at 7.30 pm
Show more

9,00 I 20,00 I 30,00 I 38,00 EUR

7,00 I 16,00 I 24,00 I 30,00 EUR* * EUR for younger than 25 and older than 65, as well as pensioners.



The Card of Cankarjev dom 

© Cankarjev dom

Cookies   Production: ENKI