Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra
Buy Gallus hall
21. sep. 2017 19:30
22. sep. 2017 19:30
When buying online tickets for individual performances through yoou get 5% discount!
Blue Season I and II and Non-subscription

Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra

Conductor: Aleksandar Marković

Soloist: Simon Trpčeski, piano

Sergej Rahmaninov, Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
Dmitrij Šostakovič, Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64


Due to force majeure, Aleksandar Marković will conduct the concert instead of Alan Buribayev.

Conductor Aleksandar Marković (1975) studied at the University of Vienna and the Accademia Chigiana in Siena. He was a scholarship holder of the Herbert von Karajan Fund and the recipient of the first prize at the 7th Grzegorz Fitelberg International Conducting Competition in Katowice (2003). Marković served as the chief conductor of the Brno Philharmonic Orchestra from 2009 to 2015. Prior to that, he led the Tyrol Provincial Theatre in Innsbruck and the Tyrol Symphony Orchestra (2005–2008). In the previous season, he served as the Artistic Director of Opera North of Leeds. In addition to the standard repertoire, Marković frequently conducts compositions by contemporary composers. He marked Wagner’s Year (2013) with a new production of The Flying Dutchman coproduced by the Slovene National Theatre Opera and Ballet Ljubljana and Cankarjev Dom.


The performance of Rachmaninoff’s Third Piano Concerto will feature the outstanding, world-renowned Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski. The technical perfection and musicality of his interpretations have led him to appearances with prestigious orchestras, such as the London, New York and Los Angeles Philharmonics and the Bolshoi Theatre Orchestra, with conductors such as Vladimir Ashkenazy, Gustavo Dudamel and Lorin Maazel.


Comments | Number of comments: 0