Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra (Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg)
Buy Gallus hall
9. jun. 20:00

25, 38, 52, 62 EUR

When buying online tickets for individual performances through yoou get 5% discount!

Main sponsor of the Golden Series

Golden Season Series and non-subscribers

Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra (Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg)

A Natural-born Star

Conductor: Gustavo Gimeno

Soloist: Yuja Wang, piano

Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky, The Tempest, symphonic fantasia in F minor, Op. 18
Maurice Ravel, Piano Concerto for the Left Hand in D major
Dmitry Shostakovich, Piano Concerto No 2 in F major, Op. 102
Maurice Ravel, Daphnis et Chloé, Suite No 2


The orchestra of the Grand Duchy since 1933, the Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra forms a very dynamic part of the culture of its country. A highly versatile ensemble, the orchestra demonstrates its diversity with a broad scope of repertoire and diverse musical partnerships. Whilst its survival was still threatened at the turn of the millennium, the orchestra today enjoys an enviable reputation and is praised both for its elegant sound and the ability to capture all the subtle nuances of a musical piece.

In the 2015/16 season, the post of the Music Director was entrusted to Gustavo Gimeno, a sought-after conductor of international prominence. He commands an elegant podium manner, while his clear beat and articulate gestures get his ideas across to the players directly. He mesmerises the audiences with his suggestive interpretations, marked by homogenous sound, extreme precision, subtlety and an irresistible Spanish temperament.

Pianist Yuja Wang’s prodigious virtuosity and technical control command critical appreciation; she is also regularly praised for the clarity of her musical insight, the freshness of her interpretations and charismatic power of her stage presence. Her musical intelligence combined with pianistic thunder and interpretive nuance confirm Yuja Wang’s status as one of this century’s most compelling and engaging artists.


Two contrasting piano concertos form the core of the concert’s programme: Ravel’s Piano Concerto for the Left Hand with its dark mood and jazz flavour, and Shostakovich’s witty, playful and mellow Piano Concert No. 2, which deviates from the composer’s customary models of composition. 



Comments | Number of comments: 0