Irena Kavčič, flute
13. mar. 2019 19:30

15, 19, 10* EUR

When buying online tickets for individual performances through yoou get 5% discount!
Silver Season Series and non-subscribers

Irena Kavčič, flute

The Enthusiasm of Musical Friendship

Irena Kavčič, flute
Tommaso Lonquich, clarinet
Quatuor Zaïde
Iztok Hrastnik, double bass

Wolfgang A. Mozart, Flute Quartet in D major, K 285 
Jan Sibelius, En Saga, for flute, clarinet and string quartet (reconstruction, G. Barrett version)
Wolfgang A. Mozart, Clarinet Quintet in A major, K 581
György Ligeti, Old Hungarian Ballroom Dances, for flute, clarinet and string quintet


Since its formation in 2009, the young, talented and firmly established all-female Quatuor Zaïde has risen to international chamber music stardom. The ensemble has won several international competitions, including First Prize at the 2012 Vienna Haydn International Competition, which paved the way for an illustrious career and appearances in some of the world’s most prestigious concert venues. The musicians impress the audiences with their youthful zeal, fiery technique, unaffected nature and harmonious interplay, in which a fluid and organic rhythmic rigour blends seamlessly with emotional beauty.

Nominated for the 2015 ECHO Rising Stars Award, the quartet collaborates with distinguished soloists and continues to expand its rich and varied repertoire. The Silver Series concert will include an appearance by flute player Irena Kavčič, member of the RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra who seeks expressive freedom both as a soloist and member of various chamber ensembles; formidable clarinettist Tommaso Lonquich who enjoys a distinguished international career; and Iztok Hrastnik, an astounding double bass player and member of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra.


The programme imaginatively interlaces classicism and contemporaneity: Mozart’s rare deviations from the solid homogeneity of a chamber ensemble on the one hand, and on the other hand an extraordinary 2003 reconstruction of Sibelius’ draft of the En Saga septet and Ligeti’s exquisite transcriptions of old Hungarian dances.  


In cooperation with Narodni dom Maribor and Kulturni dom Nova Gorica


Comments | Number of comments: 0